Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo

News

All news

Defiance and Compassion: The Films of Věra Chytilová

1-17 MARCH 2015, BFI SOUTHBANK - In our tribute to one of the key filmmakers of the 60s, we pay homage to Chytilová’s consistent moral vision and innovation. When Věra Chytilová first applied to the Prague Film School, she controversially noted that she didn’t want to make films like her tutors. She later stated that she wanted ‘to put things together in a new way’ and, although she denied being a feminist, her films invariably focus on women rebelling against a male-dominated order. Her 1960s films provide a remarkable and inventive visual and aural approach – reflected in our Atrium exhibition on The Fruit of Paradise. However, her work was condemned as experimental and pessimistic following the Soviet invasion of Czechoslovakia in 1968 and she was banned from the studios for six years. She returned with the commercially successful The Apple Game, and continued to challenge the values of both normalised ‘socialism’ and the new capitalism. Season curated by Renata Clark, Czech Centre London.

PROGRAMME:


The Journey (Cesta) + discussion
Tue 3 Mar, 18:10 / NFT 3

Ceiling (Strop)
+ A Bagful of Fleas (Pytel blech)

Sun 1 Mar, 18:30 / NFT2
Wed 4 Mar, 20:50 / NFT2



Something Different (O něčem jiném)
+ The World Cafeteria (Automat svět)

Sun 1 Mar, 20:40 / NFT2
Thu 5 Mar, 18:10 / NFT2

Daisies (Sedmikrásky)
+ intro by Peter Hames*

Mon 9 Mar, 20:45 / NFT2*
Tue 10 Mar, 18:20 / NFT2



The Fruit of Paradise
(Ovoce stromů rajských jíme)

Wed 11 Mar, 20:40 / NFT2
Sun 15 Mar, 18:30 / NFT2

The Apple Game (Hra o jablko)
Fri 6 Mar, 20:40 / NFT2
Sun 8 Mar, 15:20 / NFT3



Prefab Story (Panelstory)
Sat 7 Mar, 15:50 / NFT2
Fri 13 Mar, 20:50 / NFT2

The Very Late Afternoon of a Faun
(Faunovo velmi pozdní odpoledne)

Sat 7 Mar, 18:10 / NFT3
Tue 17 Mar, 20:30 / NFT3



Jester and the Queen (Šašek a královna)

Sat 7 Mar, 20:40 / NFT2
Sun 15 Mar, 15:50 / NFT3

Traps (Pasti, pasti, pastičky)

Sun 8 Mar, 20:30 / NFT2
Sat 14 Mar, 20:30 / NFT3



Flights and Falls (Vzlety a pády)

+ intro by Peter Hames*
Sat 14 Mar, 18:00 / NFT3*
Mon 16 Mar, 20:50 NFT2

Věra Chytilová and Jaroslav Kučera:
The Fruit of Parafdise

Fri 27 Feb - Mon 16 Mar / Atrium
EXHIBITION

Book your tickets here

To enjoy BFI Members rates on all films and events in the season simply quote Czech on line, in  person or over the phone (020 7928 3232) http://bit.ly/1z6B5sh

COMPETITION
To complement the BFI Southbank’s tribute to Věra Chytilová the BFI and the Czech Centre London have put together a fantastic goody bag worth over £300. Find out more

The First Lady of Czech Cinema Věra Chytilová - season press release:



Partners:

Sponsor: