Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


4 Jun 2020 19:00

Czech Philharmonic & Jakub Hrůša Live from Rudolfinum

The Closing Concert was originally to have comprised Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, marking the special anniversaries of both the composer and the festival, with whose history the work is closely associated. Thanks to conductor Jakub Hrůša we will still have Beethoven’s music even during the pandemic.

Conductor Jakub Hrůša and the Czech Philharmonic are preparing for a performance of two late Beethoven quartets arranged for string orchestra. “It’s an extraordinary initiative, sparked by an extraordinary situation within society as a whole; nevertheless, even this has a precedent in musical history. I am convinced that the metaphysical music of late Beethoven will make for a compelling conclusion to a festival held at an exceptionally complex time,” reflects Třeštík.

Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 14 in C sharp minor op. 131 (string orchestra arrangement)
Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 16 in F major op. 135 (string orchestra arrangement)

Czech Philharmonic
Jakub Hrůša - conductor
Ondřej Havelka - host

Concert will be streamed live on Czech Centre Facebook page   

More information about the concert

Part of Prague Spring Online, a series of Prague Spring festival concerts streamed online by the Czech Centres Network




4 Jun 2020 19:00


Remind me
This event has already started.