Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


10 Oct 2010 00:00 - 12 Oct 2010 00:00

London Symphony Orchestra plays Czech music

Dvořák’s inspiring concerto (1879) moves from darkness to light. Its rapt and lyrical progression achieves an exhilarating conclusion, drawn from energetic Czech dance. His compatriot Janáček planned ‘to portray faith in the certainty of the nation’ in his choral masterpiece. The Glagolitic Mass (1926) is a highly charged, deeply personal piece – it melds early Christianity with a pagan celebration of nature, and novelist Milan Kundera describes it as ‘more an orgy than a mass.’

10 Oct 2010 7.30 pm

12 Oct 2010 7.30 pm

Barbican Hall

Silk Street

London EC2Y 8DS

DVOŘÁK: Violin Concerto

JANÁČEK: Glagolitic Mass


Sir Colin Davis conductor

Anne-Sophie Mutter violin

Krassimira Stoyanova soprano

Anna Stephany mezzo-soprano

Simon ONeill tenor

Martin Snell bass

London Symphony Chorus

London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £8 £14 £19 £25 £32


To get the discount, quote Czech Offer when booking over the phone, or enter promotion code 18910 when booking online to receive this discount on all ticket prices. Tickets can be booked online via the links above or by calling the Barbican Box Office on 020 7638 8891.


For further details see:

Sun 10 Oct:

Tue 12 Oct:


10 Oct 2010 6–6.45pm

Barbican Hall

Pre-concert performance: Guildhall Artists at the Barbican

Dvořák String Quintet in G, Op 77 performed by Nagata Quartet and Anna Cordova Andres (double bass)

Free entry


12 Oct 2010

Tonights concert will also feature Trickster by Sasha Siem conducted by Michael Francis. This short work is part of the UBS Soundscapes: Pioneers series and was commissioned by LSO Discovery.



30 Kensington Palace Gardens
W8 4QY London
United Kingdom


From: 10 Oct 2010 00:00
To: 12 Oct 2010 00:00


Remind me
This event has already started.