Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


14 Nov 2018 19:30

London Symphony Orchestra plays Dvořák Cello Concerto

*** With François-Xavier Roth & Jean-Guihen Queyras *** Three masterworks by Debussy, Dvořák and Strauss form a panorama of music in Europe in the final throes of the 19th century.

In the mid-1890s, three composers produced iconic works which would change the face of music.

The lone flute and luscious chords of Debussy’s Prélude have become instantly recognisable; and a piece where the composer laid the foundation for the innovations of the 20th century. Meanwhile Dvořák’s Cello Concerto, sumptuous and virtuosic, was one of the first of its kind, opening up new possibilities for the solo cello. Finally Strauss’ symphonic poem – later renowned for its appearance in 2001: A Space Odyssey – placed the orchestra in a new role, where the music became the narrative and the musicians storytellers.

These three works are a snapshot of the rich musical diversity in Europe – and precursors of musical innovation still to come.

DEBUSSY Prélude à l’après-midi d’un Faune
DVOŘÁK Cello Concerto
STRAUSS Also sprach Zarathustra

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Jean-Guihen Queyras cello
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16
Book online






Barbican Hall, London


14 Nov 2018 19:30



Remind me
This event has already started.