Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


2 Jun 2017 19:30

Pavel Haas Quartet & Denis Kozhukhin

Gramophone has called the Pavel Haas Quartet the 'world's most exciting string quartet', stating that its players 'represent the best qualities of the Czech tradition'. With the 'sensational' Kozhukhin (Herald Scotland) performing the virtuosic piano part, they present Dvorák's passionate 19th-century masterpiece, which brilliantly intermingles moments of poignancy and drama. The composer's musical loyalty to his homeland can be heard in the second and third movements, strongly influenced by Czech folk music.

The piano quintet is performed alongside another enduringly popular chamber work, Beethoven's Op.127 Quartet in E flat. Considered the pinnacle of writing for the form, Beethoven's late string quartets offer an irresistible combination of formal complexity and heartfelt expression.

Written in 1825, as the composer's health worsened towards the end of his life, the quartet conveys a sense of deep, occasionally prayerful, rumination.

Pavel Haas Quartet
Denis Kozhukhin piano

Beethoven: String Quartet in E flat, Op.127
Dvorák: Piano Quintet No.2 in A, Op.81

Tickets: £10 - £38
Booking fee: £1.75 (Members £0.00) 
Book online    

Use promo code DVORAK for 20% off full ticket prices when booking online or over the phone.

Part of Southbank Centre’s prestigious International Chamber Music Series at St John’s Smith Square.





St John's Smith Square, Smith Square, London SW1P 3HA


2 Jun 2017 19:30


Southbank Centre, St John's Smith Square

Remind me
This event has already started.