Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


22 Aug 2008 00:00 - 00:00

Pavel Haas Quartet

This terrific young quartet takes its name from the Czech composer Pavel Haas, a pupil of Leoš Janáček, who was deported from Czechoslovakia and died in Auschwitz. In 2007 the Quartet was awarded the Gramophone Award for chamber music and also named Newcomer of the Year in the BBC Music Magazine Awards. Specialising in the music of Czech composers, for their Festival debut the Pavel Haas Quartet sets Janáček's heartfelt second quartet alongside Haas's own third quartet with its intense lyricism and influences of Moravian folk music.

Haas String Quartet No 3
Prokofiev Quartet No 1
Janáček String Quartet No 2 ‘Intimate Letters'


‘A unique mix of impeccable technique and warm, interactive ensemble playing... sensational.'

- The Scotsman


Czech Republic @ the Fringe 2008

30 Kensington Palace Gardens
W8 4QY London
United Kingdom


22 Aug 2008 00:00 - 00:00


Remind me
This event has already started.