Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


5 Dec 2007 00:00 - 00:00

Pavel Zemek Novak: 24 Preludes and Fugues (1989–2006)

Pavel Novák, also known as Pavel Zemek, is one of the most individual and distinctive Czech composers of his generation. His music reflects both his devout religious faith and his interest in Moravian folk traditions. Among his most significant works is his Symphony No.2 (St. John Passion), which won a Janácek Foundation prize in 1998. His Symphony No.3 for solo piano and string orchestra was premiered to great acclaim at the 2005 Dartington International Summer School, which has commissioned a further work for soprano, trumpet and organ.


William Howard (piano)


24 Preludes and Fugues, based on the Bible, were written for William Howard over a 17-year period. They form a challenging 90-minute cycle, which has been described by composer David Matthews as ‘one of the most impressive piano works of recent times’. Novák’s fugues display a novel and powerful approach to the old Baroque form, being mostly free from counterpoint, while revealing the composer’s growing interest in unison and consonance in his compositional language.


Tickets £10 (students £4)

Available from the Barbican Box Office Tel: 020 7638 8891

Open 9am-8pm daily (£2 booking fee per transaction)

Book online at www.barbican.org.uk reduced booking fee (£1 per transaction).

Book in person – Advance Box Office at Silk Street Open 9am-8pm Mon–Sat 12noon–8pm Sunday


Download the leaflet


30 Kensington Palace Gardens
W8 4QY London
United Kingdom


5 Dec 2007 00:00 - 00:00


Remind me
This event has already started.