Česká centra, Czech Centres

Česká centra / Czech centres - logo


13 Sep 2010

The Frantisek Vlacil Collection on DVD

This 4-Disc DVD set comprises three poetic and haunting epics from this great visionary master of world cinema, and also exclusively includes the world DVD premiere of Tomáš Hejtmánek’s intimate documentary portrait of Vláčil, Sentiment. 4-Disc Set comprises the following films: Marketa Lazarova, The Valley of the Bees, Adelheid and Sentiment.

Marketa Lazarová (1967) Vláčil's acknowledged masterpiece, a 13th-Century epic adapted from Vladislav Vančura’s original novel, was voted the greatest Czech film ever made. Impressively ambitious and multi-layered, it is the crowning achievement of Vláčil’s career and is one of the great cornerstones of world cinema.

The Valley of the Bees (1967) Vláčil’s strikingly composed film is a raw and powerful moral fable with themes of religious intolerance, corruption, sexuality and fundamentalism.

Adelheid (1969) Vláčil’s first colour film is a compelling and tragic love story,  an emotional tale of two lovers caught up in the bitter political and emotional aftermath of WWII.

Sentiment (2003) Hejtmánek's intimate documentary portrait of Vláčil was inspired by encounters with the great director and told through taped interviews, reconstructions of meetings with Vláčil, visits to film locations and Vláčil-inspired film sequences.
The result is one of the most unique and personal portraits of any artist – a collage of voices, sounds and images that evoke and celebrate Vláčil’s life and work.

More information at http://www.secondrundvd.com/release_vlacil.php



13 Sep 2010


Second Run DVD

Remind me
This event has already started.